Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation.—The Corporation was established by legislation (SC 1966-67, c. 70), which received Royal Assent on Feb. 17, 1967. It is empowered to insure Canadian currency deposits other than those of Canada, up to \$20,000 per person, in banks, federally incorporated trust and loan companies that accept deposits from the public, and in similar provincially incorporated institutions that are authorized by their provincial governments to apply for such insurance. The Corporation is also empowered to act as a lender of last resort for member institutions. The Board of the Corporation comprises a chairman, appointed by the Governor in Council, and four other directors who hold the positions of Governor of the Bank of Canada, Deputy Minister of Finance, Superintendent of Insurance and Inspector General of Banks.

Canadian Arsenals Limited.—This company was established under the Companies Act by Letters Patent dated Sept. 20, 1945 and is subject to the Government Companies Operation Act (RSC 1952, c. 133) and certain provisions of the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1952, c. 116). The company was set up to take over and operate Crown-owned plants and equipment. It manufactures small arms and ammunition components and has extensive facilities for the filling and assembly of artillery ammunition, mines, bombs, grenades, rockets and other specialties up to torpedo warheads. Its Divisions, together with the locations of their plants, are as follows: Small Arms Division (Long Branch, Ont.) and Filling Division (St. Paul l'Ermite, Que.). The company reports to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.—The CBC functions under the Broadcasting Act, 1958, which continues the Corporation as a Crown agency charged with the operation of a national broadcasting service. It has the authority to maintain and operate broadcasting stations and networks and to originate and secure programs from within and outside Canada. This national radio and television service is financed through annual grants from Parliament and revenues from commercial operations.

The Corporation consists of 11 directors appointed by the Governor in Council and chosen to give representation to the principal geographical divisions of the country. The Secretary of State acts as spokesman for the Corporation in the Cabinet and the House of Commons. The President and Vice President are full-time executives appointed for a period of seven years; the other nine Directors are appointed for periods of three years and may serve two consecutive terms. The President is the chief executive of the Corporation and, with the Vice President, is responsible for the conduct of the affairs of the Corporation. As the chief executive, the President receives, interprets and applies the policies and directives of the Directors of the Corporation and establishes administrative and operating policies to control the activities of all operating units—English Networks, French Networks. Regional Broadcasting and the International Service—and of corporate staff departments—Programming, Planning, Engineering, Finance and Administration.

In practice, attention of the President is directed primarily to the broad fields of corporate policy, long-range planning and financing. He reports on activities to the Directors of the Corporation and the conduct of relations with Parliament, the Board of Broadcast Governors and the public. The Vice President assists the President in his role of chief executive by assuming primary responsibility for the current operations of the Corporation.

The Corporation's Head Office is situated in Ottawa. Headquarters for English Networks is located in Toronto and for French Networks in Montreal and Regional Headquarters are situated in St. John's for Newfoundland. Halifax for the Maritime Provinces, Winnipeg for the Prairie Provinces, and Vancouver for British Columbia. Headquarters for the Northern and Armed Forces Services is in Ottawa and that for the International Service is in Montreal.

Canadian Commercial Corporation.—Established in 1946 by Act of Parliament, the Canadian Commercial Corporation is wholly owned by the Government of Canada. Initially it assumed the undertakings of the then Canadian Export Board covering procurement in Canada of goods and services on behalf of foreign Governments and United Nations relief agencies. In 1947 responsibility for procurement of the requirements of the Department of National Defence was transferred from the Department of Reconstruction and Supply to the Corporation which fulfilled these additional functions until the formation of the Department of Defence Production in 1951. In 1963 the staff of the Corporation was integrated with that of the Department of Defence Production which now provides all the management and services required by the Corporation.

The Corporation continues to act primarily as the Canadian Government contracting and procurement agency on behalf of foreign countries desirous of purchasing defence or other supplies and services from Canada on a government-to-government basis. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

Canadian Dairy Commission.—This Commission, which reports to Parliament through the Minister of Agriculture, was established on Dec. 2, 1966 (SC 1966, c. 34) to provide efficient producers of milk and cream with the opportunity of obtaining a fair return for their labour and investment and to provide consumers of dairy products with a continuous and adequate supply of dairy products of high quality. The Commission has three members appointed by the Governor in Council and operates with the advisory assistance of a nine-member Consultative Committee appointed by the Minister.